Ali's Basement

Are you not entertained?

My Life: Vancouver – Let’s Sail Away (Day 2)

leave a comment »

On day 2 I was up at 8 am, even after going to bed a little after 4 am. I can never sleep in when I’m on vacation or away from my personal bed. Plus, the penthouse had a ton of windows and since I sleep in the basement, I’m not used to so much sunlight coming in. However, it was a beautiful morning so I got ready and decided to explore a bit on my own and grab green tea.

After I got back from my morning walk everyone was up, getting ready, and we headed out in search of a fantastic breakfast. We walked out of the building looked left, looked right and just pointed in a direction and started walking. We ended walking through a really messed up area of Chinatown, where we saw all sorts of bums, druggies, gangsters, maybe even hookers. Either way, not a good look so avoid East Hastings at all costs.

Fortunately, through exploring we found a nice area tucked away behind all the filth. The area looked like a cute modern town that you would see pictured in a magazine. The breakfast spot we found was called the Blarney Stone and their food was SPLENDID! I got the Irish Eye Opener and it was truly AMAZING! I’m huge on breakfast and this was one of the best I’ve ever had. I had a scrambled egg, cheese sandwich on ciabatta bread with potatoes and fruit on the side. I don’t know what it was, but it all tasted so fresh. I definitely recommend it. While eating we had two hilarious French Canadian girls wearing animal masks, they were on their way to scare people in the woods, approach us for a lighter. One of the things I love about new towns is understanding how people operate there and just the randomness that comes with traveling. The GTB was given a celebratory shot by the staff but he passed it to a friend, it was called a Bear Fucker shot and by our friend’s reaction, I don’t think it was very good.

After breakfast, we decided we were going to rent a sail boat and go sailing … even though none of us had ever sailed a boat or was even certified to sail a boat. We figured we would give it a try and see how things ended up. On the way to the marina, we played a quick game of Bocce Ball which is an accuracy game. It’s an ancient game but the modern version is similar to bowling and darts because it requires skill, strategy and just a little luck. First you throw an initial ball, called a “pallina”, and then the objective is for each player to get as close to the “pallina” with their own ball. Bocce Ball is a great game to play outside on a beautiful day, which is exactly what we were blessed with. It was my first time seeing it played, so I thought it was a pretty neat game.

When we got to the marina we were told that all the sail boats had been rented for the day and we would have to come back tomorrow. In a sense, I was a bit relieved because none of us had any experience sailing and who knows what could have happened. Instead, we headed to the nearby beach. It was sunny and warm, but the water was still a bit chilly. Still it was a great way to spend the afternoon relaxing. After a few hours at the beach, we all came back to the penthouse and took a nap before we made plans for the evening.

In the evening, we all got up, got ready and headed out looking for a snack since we all weren’t hungry and didn’t want to waste time on a sit down dinner. We kept passing shops and finally came across Cafe Crepe, which seemed perfect since it’s not a large meal and as we found out, can be eaten on the go.  I ordered a nutella and banana crepe and I waited with anticipation. My name was called and I picked up my order which was conveniently wrapped and I could easily walk and eat. I took my first bite and was immediately blown away. The nutella and banana combination was SO delicious and it was extremely flavorful. I was in heaven and I think I blocked everyone and everything out as I enjoyed my new-found love. We definitely NEED a shop like it in D.C. ASAP and I think it’s a smart investment. It would be a cool alternative for all the partiers looking to Jumbo Slice to satisfy their late night cravings.

Now that we had all finished our ‘dinner’, we were stuck with a dilemma … do we or do we not attempt to go out? We had planned to go out after our naps, but with the lack of sleep over the past two days and the 10 hour road trip the GTB made, we all threw in the towel and went home to pass out. Tomorrow is another day!

Written by Ali's Basement

July 17, 2010 at 3:28 pm

Posted in My Life

Leave a Reply

