Ali's Basement

Are you not entertained?

My Life: World Cup 2010 Final

leave a comment »

Yesterday, I went over to a friend’s house to watch the FIFA World Cup Final, between Spain and the Netherlands, and a little BBQ action. I became a Spain and Dutch support after watching a few matches because I really enjoyed their playing style. I’ve been to Amsterdam once but have yet to visit Spain, though it’s on the list, so when it came down to supporting a team I was torn plus I had to decide on what colors to wear to the party. I started to weigh all my options: I had picked Spain to win in my Fantasy league, Paul the Octopus had picked Spain to win, Spanish is unofficially the 2nd language, but I only had a Amsterdam tee.

So, I wore the Amsterdam tee and it worked out in my favor! Everyone at the party was supporting the Dutch and I might’ve gotten kicked out by the host for supporting the Spaniards, haha. It was one of the most diverse parties I had gone to and it was perfect for this final. I had South African hosts (with Dutch ties) and their 3 kids, a German couple with their 2 kids and 2 German au pairs, and some old friends of mine. The host provided plenty of drinks, food, music (some that was even South African), entertainment, and even a vuvuzela! It was a defensive match, which meant low scoring, so we found plenty of ways to entertain ourselves.

The mood went quite sour when Spain scored late in the first overtime period, even though I was quietly happy that I predicted the winner correctly 🙂

While there was definitely some crappy officiating, nothing new to this tourney, congrats to the Spanish team for winning the World Cup Championship, they were definitely deserving. BTW, check out the Spanish Captain and Goalie, Iker Casillas, planting a kiss on his TV anchor girlfriend, Sara Carbonero, in mid-interview. Well done!

Written by Ali's Basement

July 12, 2010 at 9:00 am

Leave a Reply

