Ali's Basement

Are you not entertained?

Giving Winter the Boot

with 2 comments

America is in a revival phase. Old fashions and ideas are making a comeback in 2009 and probably will continue into 2010. Maybe it’s the recession that’s reignited a desire to embrace all things Americana. We’ve seen the reintroduction of cords, vests, and now the rugged boot. I remember back in High School everyone used to sport the Timberland Premium boots, but it wasn’t the look for me so I went for the Chukka style. I felt it was classier and more timeless. It’s actually a pair I’d still recommend. Check out Timberland’s Chukka ($90) and the 6-inch Yele Boot ($130). But the boot that I’m really feeling right now, along with the Clarks Desert Boot, is the Red Wing Classic ($170-$230). From the reviews I’ve read, once you break these in they are amazing boots and they recommend pairing them with wool socks ($12 @ Woolrich) for extra comfort and warth.

Written by Ali's Basement

December 7, 2009 at 11:12 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like you should get into Engineered Garments and Woolrich Woolen Mills, etc.

    Tim

    December 7, 2009 at 11:45 am

  2. Tim, thanks for the great suggestions. I took a look at their sites, I saw some nice things and some are really old school. But, I’d have to check it out in person and see how it fits.

    alisbasement

    December 7, 2009 at 3:39 pm


Leave a Reply

